Mission and Vision

The International Society for Pathophysiology (ISP) is a non-governmental, non-profit organization uniting specialists of experimental physiology, clinical medicine and modern biology who work on the problems of human and animal pathophysiology. The ISP cooperates with related international scientific societies and associations.

Our mission is to create a platform for global networking in the pathophysiology and versatile development of this field of physiology.

Our vision is to bring together all the societies and individuals that are interested in working to strengthen the pathophysiological discipline.


The first Congress of the International Society for Pathophysiology was organized in Moscow, USSR after the discussion of Prof. Osmo Hänninen, who served as the organizing secretary general of the Centennial Congress of the IUPS, and academician Georgy N. Kryzhanovsky. The Organizing and Scientific Program Committee of the First ISP Congress consisted of 28 acknowledged experts in physiological sciences from all over the world. Prof. Kryzhanovsky served as the president and more than 1000 participants attended the Congress.

It has been always a significant part in the policy of the ISP Council to keep contact and to cooperate with national and international societies being interested in the field of physiological sciences. As a result, successful national and international scientific conferences were organized under the patronage of the ISP. An important cooperation exists also with the IUPS Council and European Coouncil for Cardiovascular Research (ECCR).

List of congresses Read more


The ISP Constitution was adopted by the ISP General Assembly on 23 November 1994 in Kyoto, Japan.

Executive Committee | 2018-2022

Past presidents Prof. Pavel Hamet
University of Montreal's Research Centre, Canada
Prof. Wail Benjelloun
Faculty of Sciences, Mohammed V-Agdal University, Rabat, Morrocco (from September 2014 until February 2016, when he resigned)
President Prof. Olga Pechanova
Centre of Experimental Medicine, Slovak Academy of Sciences, Bratislava, Slovak Republic
President-elect Prof. Sergey Bolevich
I.M. Sechenov First Moscow State Medical University, Faculty of Postgraduate Medical Education, Russian Federation
Vice Presidents Prof. Steven Greenwald
Blizard Institute, United Kingdom
Prof. Wang Jian-Zhi
Key Laboratory of Ministry of Education of China for Neurological Disorders, China
Prof. Zdenko Kovac
Medical School University of Zagreb, University Hospital Centre Zagreb, Croatia
Secretary General Martina Cebová, PhD.
Centre of Experimental Medicine, Slovak Academy of Sciences, Bratislava, Slovak Republic
Treasurer Laszlo Rosivall, PhD., DSc.
Faculty of Medicine Semmelweis University, Budapest, Hungary
Editor of Pathophysiology Prof. J. Steven Alexander

ISP Council Members

Surname First Name Country Function E-mail
Adeniyi Kayode Oke    Cook Island Council Member kayodeadeniyi@hotmail.com
Alexander Jonathan, Steven USA Editor of Pathophysiology JAlexa@lsuhsc.edu
Bolevich Sergei Russia President-elect bolevich2011@yandex.ru
Cebova Martina Slovak Republic Secretary General martina.cebova@savba.sk
Greenwald Steven UK Vice President s.e.greenwald@qmul.ac.uk
Hamet Pavel Canada Former President pavel.hamet@umontreal.ca
Hanninen Osmo Finland Council Member Emeritus osmo.hanninen@uef.fi
Kovac Zdenko Croatia Vice President zkovac@mef.hr
Kubyshkin Anatoliy Russia Council Member anatoly2802@gmail.com
Levy Bernard France Council Member bernard.levy@inserm.fr
Matsuo  Osamu Japan Council Member matsuo-o@med.kindai.ac.jp
Molnar  Miklos Hugary Council Member molnar.miklos_g@med.semmelweis-univ.hu
Navasardyan Grizelda Armenia Council Member grizeldanav@yahoo.com
Orlov Sergei Russia Council Member sergeinorlov@ya.ru
Pechanova Olga Slovak Republic President olga.pechanova@savba.sk
Rosivall Laszlo Hungary Treasurer rosivall.laszlo@med.semmelweis-univ.hu
Saeed Amel Soudan Council Member amalsaeed@yahoo.com
Scholle  Hans-Christoph Germany Council Member hans-christoph.scholle@med.uni-jena.de
Stein Don USA Council Member dstei04@emory.edu
Tremblay  Johanne Canada Council Member
Scientific Affair
Vozeh   Frantisek Czech Republic Council Member frantisek.vozeh@lfp.cuni.cz
Wang Jian-Zhi China Vice President wangjz@mails.tjmu.edu.cn
Xu  Ming China Council Member xuminghi@bjmu.edu.cn
Zhang Youyi China Council Member zhangyy@bjmu.edu.cn


Education Committee Prof. Zdenko Kovac
Medical School University of Zagreb, University Hospital Centre Zagreb, Croatia


Shanghai Resolution

ISPT 2009 Resolution Concerning the Trends and Practice in Pathophysiology Teaching/Learning


Beijing Declaration

ISP Declaration Concerning the Role and Position of Pathophysiological Teaching/Learning in Biomedical Curricula